RSS

5 Minutes on HOME

08 Mar

HOME

As usual, my thoughts started in one direction, then took another turn.

My 1st thought is – It’s not a house. We had some dear friends move a while ago. We were taking care of their house for a few days. When we went in, the boys all said, “It’s not the same” because the people weren’t there. And it’s true.

As I thought about “home” I thought…
Home is where your heart is
It’s where you hang your hat
It’s where you belong
It’s where you feel comfortable
It’s where you’re accepted
It’s where you’re loved. period.

And then a song went through my head…
“This world is not my home
I’m just a passin’ through.
My treasures are laid up
somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me
from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home
In this world anymore.”

Do I feel more comfortable in God’s presence than anywhere else?
Do I really believe that this world is NOT my home? It’s temporary? I’m a stranger here?

And I thought about how every home has a smell to it.
Know what I mean?
You never can smell your own, but you can smell others.
And that smell carries with the people who live in that home.
The boys always! smell clothes that are given to us.
Then they say, “This came from so-n-so.” Based on the smell.

And that’s my question to myself as we begin this time of prayer and fasting….

Do I “smell” like Heaven to those around me?

5-minute-friday-1

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2013 in 5 Minute Fridays

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “5 Minutes on HOME

  1. Lindsey

    March 8, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    I’ve always wondered what my home smells like to others…today, to me, it’s cinnamon in the muffins I just made! I like your last thought, makes me wonder, do I?

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:28 pm

      oooohhhhh yum! Sounds delicious! I’ll be right over. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by.

       
  2. Mia

    March 8, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    Hi Michele
    I surely am glad that this world is not our home and that we are just pilgrims on our way to our true home!! Over via FMF.
    Much love and a blessed weekend
    Mia

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      Sometimes I forget I’m just a pilgrim! Hope you have a wonderful weekend also. Glad you stopped by again ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs to you!

       
  3. Susan Wachtel

    March 9, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Oh, I like your question…do I smell like heaven to those around me. Thank you for your beautiful reflections on what home is and the reminder that this is not our real home. Blessings in Christ…Susan

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:34 pm

      And thank you for the sweet words of encouragement, Susan! So glad you stopped by. I appreciate your uplifting words. Have a great weekend!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
