RSS

Time4Learning Review

12 Mar

I just completed my 1st ever product review! I’m excited. 🙂

Over the last 30 days, I reviewed Time4Learning. My opinion is entirely my own. Time4Learning is a computer based curriculum. It’s comprehensive, which means they cover all the subjects. During our trial we did not explore Social Studies, the Writing, or the literature sections in Language Arts. We didn’t use it as much as I wanted to because Spring Break happened during our 30 days, but here’s what I found.

I loved so many aspects of this program.

  1. It’s computer-based, so most of the lessons are taught on the computer and the student does his/her practice on the computer. A few of the lessons weren’t video-driven, so I had to help teach those, but most were set up so the kids could watch then practice without my doing much.
  2. Record keeping is a total breeze! Icons let you know what practice is just practice, what is graded, and what is a quiz or test. You also see exactly what your student completed in each subject daily. I really liked this feature.
  3. Another great feature, in my opinion, was the ability to print out practice sheets. This came in handy on the days we were out and about instead of home. I could print out pages for the boys to take along. It would also be helpful for those who need a little more work, or who do better with paper/pencil rather than just computer.
  4. The lessons are clearly explained, so if I wanted to skip around I could. Each subject has “chapters”, and each of those “chapters” or themes have many lessons within. For example, under Language Arts is a chapter on Synonyms, Antonyms, and Homonyms. In the Lesson Planning section I could easily see exactly what lessons taught each of those concepts and how they taught them, which made assigning that work easy.
  5. Scheduling lessons was super easy, too! I could pick a start lesson and an end lesson, a start date and an end date, and Time4Learning would schedule out exactly what needed to be done each day, for multiple subjects even. Then I could print out those schedules weekly. I didn’t figure out how to skip lessons in this section, but loved the idea of giving what needed to be covered in a timeframe and having a schedule printed out without my having to schedule lessons.
  6. I like the fact that Language Arts includes literature to read. So often I feel curriculums focus on skills but leave out books, and I’m super partial to books! 🙂 We didn’t explore this component, but I really like that it’s there. The skills covered are great critical thinking skills also. You can view Language Arts lessons plans here.
  7. Time4Learning was super easy to set up and had many instructional videos for the parent. I have to confess, since I’m in an all-male household, I didn’t watch many of those videos; I just started playing 🙂 But it was easy to figure out, too, so I don’t think I missed much.
  8. I liked the flexibility of the program. Just because I signed my kid up for a certain grade level didn’t mean he couldn’t access curriculum in another grade level. That comes in handy for either remediation or acceleration.
  9. I liked that the kids in the older grades could customize their home screens. The boys didn’t do that, but it the option to make the home screen more personal I think was a good idea.
  10. Time4Learning includes a chapter on State Simulation Assessments in Language Arts. For those who feel the need to see where their child is in relation to what the schools are doing, this is a great option. We didn’t do any of these lessons, so I’m not sure how they work.

I did find 2 aspects of Time4Learning that I didn’t like. First, my boys didn’t like the video interfaces. However, that could be because the first time I showed them something it was from a younger grade level. Second, I couldn’t figure out how to make sure what the kids did on the computer was actually what I had planned for them. In other words, I wanted to have the option that when they signed in all they could access would be the lessons they had to complete that day or week, instead of having everything at their disposal. As I said earlier, though, I didn’t read all of the parent instructions, and I didn’t contact anyone for help, so there might be a way to do this that I didn’t figure out.

Time4Learning can be used for homeschool study, an afterschool curriculum or for summer learning. I encourage you to check out their website and look around. You’ll find sample lessons, scope and sequence, and other helpful information. Click here to go straight to Time4Learning. Happy browsing! 🙂

 
 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Time4Learning Review

  1. inhistiming

    March 12, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Yay for you! I have an upcoming review for a different company and it IS exciting. I did one for T4L last year….I wonder if they would let me do another with my 4 yo this time? Can’t wait to see how you like it. Which kiddos will be testing it out?

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 13, 2013 at 10:10 pm

      I’m doing both. I thought I remembered that you had done one.

       
  2. Brandy Strouse

    March 19, 2013 at 9:58 am

    I love doing reviews. My children have used time4learning on and off for years. Now my 4 year old is enjoying it as much as my 13 year old. It has really saved us with the Algebra. I can’t wait to hear how your children like the program.

    Lil’ Momma
    Working with 1 preschooler, 1 kindergardener and 1 middle schooler who are Five in Training for HIM

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
