RSS

1000 Gifts February

14 Mar

634 – Another amazing run downtown last Saturday. 12 miles along the intracoastal, across the bridge to the beach, along the beach, then back to the intracostal. Perfect weather, perfect scenery. If you gotta do 12, that’s definitely the way to do it! 🙂

1beach

635 – A Daddy talkin’ to his boy about the tough stuff in life

636 – Tim’s wisdom he can impart to the boys in those tough times

637 – This one, AGAIN!, is a discipline, just like #497. I am choosing to see these tough situations as blessings, and trying to help the boys see that as well. Because really these tough situations are opportunities for growth, and lessons learned early can help them live a life of no regrets.

638 – The “Why I Believe” Coop girls doing dishes and being gracious in the midst of chaotic life! You GOTTA read “5 Minutes on BARE” to hear the whole story. It’s worth it! 🙂

639 – A walk down memory lane, and a time of personal worship

DSC05624

639 – We had a water problem, but it was fixed quickly and cheaply!

640 – The village of Wellington water department was wonderful! They came out, cleaned up our meter box and replaced it. All without us even asking! It was a real shot in the arm to see government working without red tape.

641 – Nathan playing drums for middle school worship – with other middle school friends and both of his life group leaders! I had goosebumps! Thanks, Tammie, for the photo!

1 SM worship

642 – And then I looked over and saw Michael worshipping with abandon, and I had goosebumps for the 2nd time that night!

643 – That I can get something out of the middle school message!

644 – An unexpected free Chick-Fil-A sandwich! Always a blessing 🙂

1chickfila

645 -Youth leaders who encourage students to make a difference! Pastor Ryan took Nathan & a friend to breakfast where they talked about starting a prayer group at Wellington Landings each morning at 9am.

photo from our youth pastor, Pastor Ryan

photo from our youth pastor, Pastor Ryan

646 – That was just the push Nathan needed to get off square 1. Nathan had been thinking about starting a group, and had looked at some online resources. He just needed a little push & encouragement. Now, every day before school, at least 4 kids are praying at 9am!! This week it was 5 kids 🙂

647 – The 1st day of prayer group Nathan was in the office and met a teacher he doesn’t even have who encouraged him. Mr. Wilbur, the Spanish teacher, is a believer who felt the lack of prayer at Landings on a faculty level. 3 weeks prior to Nathan’s 1st prayer meeting, Mr. Wilbur had started a faculty prayer group! Mr. Wilbur said he’d be supporting Nathan in any way possible. Nathan was blown away.

648 – Birds singing in the morning. I love hearing the different birds, especially the mockingbirds!

649 – MAMA POWER!

MomE bdayhoney,mom

650 – A blog post that really encouraged me when I needed it! Thanks, Allans

651 – A Starbucks date with a coupon on Valentine’s day with The Best Man! The whipped cream was worth the burpee penalty Tim gave me!

652 – Seeing all 3 boys worship together

photo-91

653 – This is PURE DISCIPLINE!! I really don’t get this one at all, to tell you the truth. Remember blessing #497? (You really have to read here for this to make sense.) Tim had an opportunity to participate in a professional development conference in South Africa, where he grew up as a missionary kid. We were both super excited, and really thought God was making a dream come true for us. We’ve always wanted to go there together, ever since we got engaged. Well, Tim didn’t get chosen for this conference. His text to me was, “God’s got something better.” Even though I know that in my head, my heart is still struggling to catch up, even with the truth of #653 staring me in the face!!

654 – I got a part time job!! It’s a double blessing because I’m tutoring my friend’s kids. She’s been struggling with health for the past few months and just needs to concentrate on getting completely well. I had texted her late last year to keep her ears open for any tutoring she might hear of, since she’s active in the homeschool world. She called me up a few weeks ago and asked if I would consider taking a few of her kids. I was blown away. If the 1st opportunity (you know, the one I thought was sooo perfect) had been a go, I would not have been available to help my friend. Only God! So why is it so hard for me to see that He has something better in regards to #652?!?! I told you it was discipline!! Can I choose another word for 2031??? 🙂

655 – An evening with Tim at Palm Beach Atlantic University for the Faculty Dance Recital. It was beautiful!

656 – A fabulous weekend running the Hope Race – the Disney Princess Half-Marathon

1 Race beginning

657 – David found the screws for the fan blade!

658 – We got a free mouthguard!! Thanks, Scotty’s Sport Shop!!

659 – Nathan’s tweet to me about the race, and about life in general. He said he’d been struggling at school some & God just spoke to him. See the tweets below.

1Nte race tweet

1NTE tweet

660 – Encouraging messages from friends

661 – Found a local Christian tree company who can take down the tree we need and they were cheaper than any other bid we got!!

662 – No rain for our half-marathon

1 Race fireworks

663 – In fact, it was overcast, which helped keep it relatively cool. Super humid, though!

664 – An amazing report of what God is doing at Hope House!

665 – The boys maturing a little bit in handling life situations

666 – Michael saying, “I’m all in” about an offering for the new Boynton Beach / Stuart campuses. He gave from his spending bank. Nathan said, “I’m saving for Belle Glade.” Michael said, “Well, God took care of you 2 years in a row and He’ll take care of me this year. And if He doesn’t, that’s ok anyway!” LOVE seeing that faith!! LOVE seeing Michael sensitive to God’s leading!

667 – David following Michael’s lead in giving for Boynton Beach out of his own money

photo-92

668 – Another party in Heaven over another new believer!! Michael is taking the land seriously! 🙂

669 – Nathan scored the 1st goal of the 1st game of the soccer season!!

670 – Nathan scored the 1st & last goals of his next game, and I got to see it all before we had to leave for the marathon

671 – Being able to spend some time with special friends during the Hope Run weekend – and being able to share together the cause of raising awareness of human trafficking

photo-93

672 – The Firehouse 7 graciously gave up their prime starting spots at the 1/2 marathon to stick with me, the slowpoke!

1 Firehouse 7

castle

673 – An unexpected Starbucks gift certificate in my race goodie bag! The one from the Hope House gang, not in the official goodie bag. Just in case any of you were tempted to run the Princess for the Starbucks card! 🙂

674 – An unexpected delivery of Starbucks yesterday!! I almost didn’t get to participate in this blessing because I almost said, “No thanks” out of worry. Lesson learned! 🙂

675 – Extra money for my HEW habit! Thanks, Holly!! 🙂

676 – Jenny using her spiritual gifts of Helps at my house! Girl, you are welcome here anytime!! 🙂

677 – Leftover RosesDSC05670

678 – I got my funds for the Hope Run! And a little more besides!! 🙂 Praise God – and THANK YOU to those of you who supported the run in honor of the precious princesses rescued out of human trafficking!

679 – Unexpected leftover food coming our way! Yea for pre-cooked dinners!! 🙂

680 – The coolest thing to me about the Hope Run fundraising was this card sent to me from Guam. My friend, Marsha, whom I’ve never laid eyes on, sent money. But more precious to me was this card. Marsha could have sent thousands of dollars and it wouldn’t have meant as much as this card!

DSC05667

681 – I finished the half-marathon! 🙂 Felt pretty good, too, (for the most part) and was encouraged to see HEW pay off. 🙂 You can read the whole story here.

1 ME medal

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2013 in 1000 Gifts

 

Tags: , , ,

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
