RSS

Wow Weekend!

09 Apr

What a weekend!

1Truth

Pastor Todd brought it to us all this weekend!
All about TRUTH –
knowing it and LIVING it!
And I’m a Truth lover!
I love knowing God’s Word & sharing the joy of studying it and living it!!
You can watch the message
Here are some highlights.

  • Truth can be known; it’s not elusive
  • We value tolerance rather than truth
  • Feelings are valid, but they’re not FACT
  • Truth isn’t what we vote on, nor is it what the Supreme Court says
  • Shadrach, Meshach, & Abednego were in a godless land, but that didn’t mean they had to be godless!
  • They were not going to be marked by culture, and neither should we!
  • Live what you know! Sometimes we don’t need more truth, we need more obedience!!

Wow! BUT…not necessarily my favorite part! Really 🙂

After service Tim & I helped as facilitators in the Student Ministries Life Study. On – guess what? –

HOW TO STUDY THE BIBLE!!

oh yeah!
It’s my favorite!
The reason I blog and write Bible Study journals!

Hearing God's Voice COV

thinkingcovsmDoing-Cov

And I’m still on a high from that class! We went over the devotional method. And what I loved is this. We practiced at our table. Each girl read Luke 12:22-26 on her own and came up with some insights and applications. Here’s what 3 girls shared:

  1. Insight: Life isn’t about having the newest stuff. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes.” (v. 23) Application: I need to limit my time on Instagram because all that does is make me want more stuff and think about what everyone else has. BINGO!! I wanted to jump up and down!! 🙂 What a joy to see God speak to her & she respond!! Still makes my stomach flip as I type! 🙂
  2. Insight: I don’t need to worry about what others say about me and how I look. Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. (v. 22) Application: Put some kind of notification on my phone to remind me that God is what’s important. Put notes up on my mirror or in my locker. BINGO again!! Same passage, different gal, different take, because God speaks to us individually!! LOVE IT!!!
  3. Insight: I don’t need to worry about being provided for. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! (v. 24)  Application: same idea as above – notifications and reminders. YES!!

What a treasure! They did that on their own. We did discuss some specific application points for how to not worry, and they came up with the notification idea. I’m excited to see what they come up with this week! What a joy!

Pastor Todd ended with a challenge that I’m passing on to you.
• DARE to LIVE the TRUTH
• Find 3 lies that culture feeds us, AND find Scripture to refute those lies!!
(you can leave your “finds” in the comments if you want!)

Ready, Set, GO!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2013 in My Musings, WOW! Only God!

 

8 responses to “Wow Weekend!

  1. Duane Scott

    April 9, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    I love this “insight / application” approach to implementing your inspirations. I’m going to consider doing that too. 🙂 Thank you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 17, 2013 at 8:07 am

      Thanks, Duane! I love helping people study God’s Word! My hubby and I have written devotional journals that use Bible Study and journaling. If you’re interested you can see them at http://leadinggodsgeneration.com (They are for kids in the look, but the content works for adults too :-)) The class is based off Rick Warren’s Bible Study Methods book.

       
  2. Lyli@3dLessons4Life

    April 10, 2013 at 10:26 am

    Sweet Michelle, there are so many things I love about this post. I served in youth ministry for many years, so you have grabbed my heart by sharing the girl’s insights. Isn’t it amazing how we are trying to teach them, but they end up teaching us? I think I learned more by teaching, then I did when I was the student.

    Luke 12:22 was a verse that God gave me last year when I was very sick. Don’t worry about what you eat…. don’t worry about anything…. just keep walking and trusting in me….

    Visiting your blog is always like a burst of sunshine into my day. Blessings to you — Keep at it! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 17, 2013 at 8:07 am

      Oh my friend, thanks for your encouragement. I’m praying for you! You are a blessing to me and everyone else who reads your precious words. Hugs to you today!

       
  3. lauraura

    April 10, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    I love this peek into your Bible study, Michelle. Wish I could sit in on one of your classes :). I’ll just have to learn from here. Hope you have a wonderful rest of the week–that it might get a “wow”! too.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 17, 2013 at 8:10 am

      I like that, Laura! I’ll keep looking for the WOW. Hugs to you!

       
  4. Beth

    April 11, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    I was talking with a friend yesterday about being in need of having those “notifications” in place. I like what you’ve shared here. Love your heart for sharing with others. Blessings to you.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
