RSS

I Won A Lesson

15 Apr

“Enter to Win!”
Familiar words.
Done it many times.
I. NEVER. win.
NEVER!
Until a few weeks ago.

And I won more than a prize.
I won a lesson.

My friend Jen, of Finding Heaven Today, has a group called Soli Deo Gloria. We “meet” together on Monday nights (or sometimes Tuesday mornings for me :-)) to share our hearts. A few weeks ago Jen shared about some necklaces she’d had made for Soli Deo Gloria. And she shared what the necklace means to her. (You can read that here.) I can totally relate to her words because they could be mine.

Necklace

pictures are from Jen’s blog

“I’ve had a problem with pride.
I’ve had issues (and still do, at times) with asking for the world’s applause.
I’ve wanted glory and fame and recognition simply because I thought these things would bring me wholeness.
I thought that if I did big things in the name of Jesus, I would have the best of both worlds

–the approval and acclamation of God and Man.” (Jen’s words, my issues)

At the end of her post was a chance to “Enter To Win” one of the necklaces.

Every thing you did gave you another chance to win the necklace. She had things like commenting on the post, commenting on other people’s posts in the Soli Deo Gloria party, sharing on Facebook and Twitter, etc.

Enter To Win

So here’s the rub for me.
This came during my time of fasting.
No big deal, except I was fasting social media,
so I wasn’t on Facebook or Twitter at the time.
Dilemma!!

Oh I thought about all kinds of ways to get around it. I even thought about emailing Jen to ask for a special dispensation – could I maybe just say I wasn’t on Facebook or Twitter and still get the points? Should I try to get the points by just leaving a message about the fast – if that would even work? What to do?! What to do?!

As I was stewing, God spoke to me. He convicted me that He is sovereign. He knew the timing of Jen’s post would coincide with my social media fast. If He really wanted me to win that necklace, He could overcome the “lost” chances from not being on Twitter or Facebook. So I did everything I could, but didn’t email or try to manipulate my chances.

AND HE DID!!
I WON!!!

1Winner

I can’t wait to get my necklace! Not just because I think it’s neat. But because I so identify with Jen’s words in her post. So it will be a reminder to me, also, that my focus should be on God and His glory in all I do. And it will also be a reminder of the balance of doing what I can do, but trusting God to do what He can do, and leaving results up to Him. Which is a great lesson for me!

AND… before I could post this… guess what came in the mail today?!?!
I LOVE IT!!
Thank You, Lord!

1Necklace Soli copy

My necklace – all for HIS GLORY!!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2013 in My Musings

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “I Won A Lesson

  1. Dolly@Soulstops

    April 15, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    What an awesome lesson and reminder to have every time you wear the necklace…Love love it…hugs to you, Michelle 🙂

     
  2. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson

    April 16, 2013 at 8:35 am

    And this…this is why I did this. Sure, it is a fundraiser for SDG, but the heart behind having these necklaces made is simply so that we can all have a reminder to fully live for Him. Amen, girl. God is big. So much bigger than anything we could manipulate.

     
  3. enthusiasticallydawn

    April 16, 2013 at 9:29 am

    Beautiful story and thoughts. I very much relate. The Spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. God bless you as you glorify Him.

     
  4. Lyli @ 3dLessons4Life

    April 16, 2013 at 10:19 am

    Awesome story! Mine came in the mail yesterday as well. I love it. 🙂

     
  5. Pamela

    April 16, 2013 at 11:11 am

    This just makes me smile! So happy God dumped a blessing on you.

     
  6. acupofearlgreywithme

    April 16, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    Yay!! I love seeing God work in more ways than one~ like a firework display coming from one source, making something so beautiful! ! Your trust, your reward, your encouragement spread to others and His name honored and praised!! He is so worthy!! Big hug to you! 🙂

     
  7. Jean Wise

    April 16, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    First of all congrats on winning but what a lesson and wonderful witness this story is. wow. loved it!

     
  8. PattyCepedaRussell

    April 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Awesome! Way to see the lesson in this. Also, i want a necklace too!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 24, 2013 at 11:31 am

      Hey girl! You can get one. Here’s the info, from Jen Ferguson, http://www.findingheaventoday.com : Would you like to order one? You can place your order by emailing Jen at jenfergie2000 @ me. com. I will send you directions for remitting payment. If you are local to me (Austin, TX), the cost is $15. If you will need me to package and mail it to you, the price is $20. (All profits will go to scholarships for the 2013 SDG Retreat.) Love ya!!

       
  9. dukeslee

    April 18, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    Wow! Beautiful! The necklace … and your story.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 24, 2013 at 11:32 am

      Thanks, Jennifer. It’s a great reminder for me! Hugs to you. Hope you’re getting some warmer weather. 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
