RSS

Reflecting Ups & Downs

29 Apr

Over 300 journals (& counting) downloaded!! 

Hearing God's Voice COV

YIPPEE!!!
Sort of.

After I wrote “Reflecting” this morning, God’s giving me a chance to do it.

And I’m struggling!

I’m struggling to have an eternal perspective.
I’m struggling to have patience.
I’m struggling to trust.
I’m struggling to listen to the wisdom of people who have gone before me in an area where I have NO expertise. As in none. zero. zilch. nada.

currclick-publishersmall

We partnered with CurrClick a while back. One of the marketing tools Leah encouraged us to use is the promotional week, where a publisher (us) offers a freebie for a week. I get the premise, and she’s by far the expert! So we scheduled it. And it’s going like crazy today.

1email

BUT…

I see the number 300+ and think – that could be money in our pocket!!
And we NEED money in our pocket right now!
Oooohhhh. (see the struggle?!) Isn’t having money important?

BUT…

we just read in school about the Great Depression and how some business men – wealthy business men – committed suicide because they lost their wealth. And we talked about how that meant their lives were built around money, not God. Don’t I want to model for the boys a life built on God, His truth, and His priorities? Don’t I want to model a life with an eternal, not a temporal, perspective?

BUT…most importantly….God says :

  • His Words are not just idle words for you—they are your life. Deuteronomy 32:47
  • It is written, Man doesn’t live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God. Matthew 4:4, Deuteronomy 8:3
  • Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will never pass away. Matthew 24:35
  • His words are life to those who find them and health to one’s whole body. Proverbs 4:22
  • Everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. Matthew 7:24-25

And, really, isn’t that what my goal is for the journals? The whole reason they came into being?
To help kids begin to love digging into God’s Word on their own,
knowing they can because the Holy Spirit is their teacher.
To help kids build a solid foundation on His Word, so they can be counter-culturally relevant.

1lggpage

So I practice changing my focus.
If 300+ people learn to study God’s Word together,
don’t I believe that could change the world?!
Isn’t that better than all the money in the world?!
oohh, but the here & now is so here & now – so real!
It’s a struggle, let me tell you!
But God wants me to trust Him to provide, not the journals.
He wants me to have an eternal perspective.
He wants me to reflect Him!

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Reflecting Ups & Downs

  1. Wendy WoernerWEndy

    April 29, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    You are blessing others! And you will be blessed. God knows in what way that will come. Love you, girl!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 30, 2013 at 9:47 am

      Thank you so much, my friend! I appreciate your encouragement!

       
  2. PattyCepedaRussell

    April 30, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Dear friend,
    I too struggle with the very same issues of trust. What keeps me going is knowing that God always, always, always provides! Keep on spreading the love and message of Jesus Christ. Keep on leading the next generation to the word and you will see how God blesses you! And…don’t look at the numbers with dollar signs in your eyes, see with your heart the real numbers that are being led to the kingdom. You inspire me! God bless you!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 30, 2013 at 9:48 am

      Oh, Patty, that’s exactly what God convicted me of this morning! Time to switch my focus!! Love ya!

       
  3. Sandy Murcia

    April 30, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Amazing! Your blog confirmed my devotional for today. The only certainty we have as followers of Jesus Christ is Him, everything else is uncertain. We don’t know what a new day will bring but we certainly know He is always there for whatever we encounter. He loves us unconditionally and provides for us beyond our imagination!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 30, 2013 at 9:49 am

      Love you, my friend! Give yourself a hug 🙂 I love how God works!! And I’m so glad that He is certain and also beyond imagination.

       
  4. Lisa notes...

    May 1, 2013 at 7:59 am

    “Trusting him to provide.” Yes. That’s a struggle for all of us. I appreciate you clarifying yours so well; it helps us all put ours into perspective, too. Praying for greater depending today on HIM. Thanks, Michelle.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 2, 2013 at 9:40 am

      Thanks so much, Lisa! I’m praying for a focus shift for me, too 🙂

       
  5. Shelly Miller

    May 1, 2013 at 8:22 am

    I’m hearing the sacred echo of dependence and trust, not only in my life but in that of others. You are doing what is most needful, leading others to Christ. And He takes care of the rest.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 2, 2013 at 9:40 am

      Shelly, I appreciate your encouragement! I really am glad you’re hearing an echo of dependence and trust, cuz I don’t always hear that from me!! 🙂 Blessings to you.

       
  6. jdukeslee

    May 1, 2013 at 10:25 am

    Michelle, I pray that God blesses you richly, just as you are blessing others so much right now. You are making such a difference. Such. A. Difference.

     
  7. Jean Wise

    May 1, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    Michelle you expressed this torment we all go through so well. That back and forth tension of believing yet letting our eyes be drawn elsewhere. I think this tension will exist all our lives, we are called to be faithful and to return our eyes and heart focused only on Him. We aren’t called to be successful. Good thought provoking post!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 2, 2013 at 9:42 am

      “we aren’t called to be successful; we are called to be faithful” Oh thank you for that reminder you wonderful girl!! Hugs!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
