RSS

My 6th grader teaches

13 May

I look over

and he’s drawing –

silly faces, doodles, some story in his mind,

blam! blam! blam!

Michael notes

or

he’s filling out the visitor tear-out flap

with a goofy name, address, email

and prayer request for more cake

seriously?!

Michael flap

and I wonder –

is he getting anything?

anything at all out of the message on conflict?!?

Then during the week

someone does him wrong.

and maybe twice?!

LOOK OUT! HERE COMES MAMA!!

with all her “spiritual” wisdom.

“Burn me once, shame on you.
Burn me twice, shame on me!”

and he says,

“Mom, it’s just like Pastor Todd said.

Fill the gap with trust.

That’s what I’m doing.

Don’t get mad.

Just fill the gap with trust.”

Michael Notes2

He was so excited!

With a big smile on his face he said,

“See, Mom, I’m practicing what I learned!

This has been a great week so far!”

Yes, it has,

and it IS shame on me

for doubting that he heard anything,

and forย not practicing what I heard on Sunday.

just a little disclaimer…
I post this so I can remember this 1 day out of the 365, this 1 time (out of the seemingly 50 billion other times) we saw Jesus working! It’s not always roses here, peeps!! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “My 6th grader teaches

  1. Dolly@Soulstops

    May 14, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    Michelle,
    You are funny…and no shame on you because His grace covers it all, and I bet more times than not, you are giving your son wise advice…What an encouraging peek into your son’s life ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 15, 2013 at 11:05 am

      You are such an encourager! Thank you my friend ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. Kathleen Jaeger

    May 14, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    I love it! Reminders of how Jesus is working. And we need to remember the times that we can see when He is working. It helps. Thanks for sharing. And btw, I can totally see my kids filling in prayer requests for cake….sounds like something they would do.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 15, 2013 at 11:05 am

      It’s good to know I’m not alone, Kathleen! ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. Jean Wise

    May 14, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    I think you were given a wonderful glimpse into the man your son will grow into. Wow. God is doing amazing things in his soul already!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 15, 2013 at 11:05 am

      I just need to keep that glimpse fresh, Jean! ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  4. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson

    May 15, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    This is awesome. It’s great to celebrate these victories!!

     
  5. laura

    May 16, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    And that’s enough to make a mama smile :). Don’t you love when they teach us?

     
  6. Especially Made

    May 17, 2013 at 11:58 am

    That’s sweet! God is always using our kids to teach us the most precious lessons.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
