RSS

Love Handles Wisdom

10 Jun

“Love Handles”
the theme of the last Student Ministry series
about how to handle relationships in a Godly way.

During the series there were some great points like…

“Don’t worry about finding the right person. Worry about BEING the right person.”
“God cares more about your soul than your status”
“Girls, you are worth the wait.”
“Guys, marriage is worth waiting for.”

But my favorite part of the series was the end.

All during the series kids had been sending in questions about relationships. The Student Ministry Pastors chose a panel of a single gal, a single guy, a dating couple, and a married couple to answer some of those questions.

thanks

Can I just say, that panel was AWESOME!! Seriously, I was amazed at the wisdom imparted to the students! Here’s an example: Question: “What do I do if I’ve found a great person, a really Godly person, but my parents don’t want me to date?” Answer: “If your parents aren’t for it, it’s not a Godly relationship. If you have to go against your parents, you’re saying it’s ok to lie and your relationship is based on a lie.” See what I mean?!?

But still, my favorite part was the end of the panel.
Because a spontaneous idea turned out to be amazing.

My parents “happened” (really, orchestrated by God) to be visiting us and wanted to observe a Student Ministry service. They “happened” to be there during the panel discussion. When I mentioned to Pastor Aaron that Mom & Dad had been married 51 years (and started dating in 9th/10th grade), he immediately asked if they’d be willing to share one nugget of truth to the kids at the end of the panel. Since Dad is a teacher and former pastor, it wasn’t too hard for him to say yes 🙂

advice

So they went on stage at the end of the discussion as special guests
and gave the kids one word
to help them build a lasting relationship.

FAITHFULNESS

Faithfulness first to God, and then to each other. They challenged the kids to follow God’s design and not mess with Him. Then they prayed a prayer of blessing over the middle schoolers. Dad got a little choked up, and so did I.

What a special night!
One of those magical memories!
I loved hearing the kids cheer for Mom & Dad.

ministry

But the best was still yet to come. They were floored by the number of kids who came up to them – especially boys! – and thanked them for sharing. They got to talk with and pray with a group of gals who sought them out. It was so gratifying to them, and to me, too!

prayer

What a great exclamation point to their 50th Anniversary celebration last year!
And what a blessing to know they’re still being used by God!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2013 in 1000 Gifts, WOW! Only God!

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Love Handles Wisdom

  1. Debbie Brown

    June 10, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Michelle,
    Wow-I teared up as I got towards the end of your blog.I love your parents and it is wonderful to see God using them in the lives of the young people at Christ Fellowship.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      June 11, 2013 at 7:52 pm

      Hugs my friend! So glad you were blessed, and so glad it’s summer for you! 🙂

       
  2. Jan

    June 12, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    What an awesome ministry to those students! I loved every word of this.
    (Visiting from SDG)

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
